Kay’s Writings | Reading Standards

This piece, “Developing High Level Reading Ability,” provides an overview of the need to help each child read at high levels.

In “Reading Standards” sections I, II, and III, each of the ten Common Core Reading Anchor Standards is discussed and explored.  The rationale for these new high level standards are discussed.  Reading is essential for learning.  Standard Ten, reading complex text proficiently, pushes reading ability to new higher levels.  Methods for achieving these learning reading and analysis goals are presented.

Anchor standards  The ten Common Core Reading Anchor standards

Developing High Level Reading Ability

Reading Part I The Reading Standards Key Ideas and Details

Reading Part II Craft and Structure

Reading Part III Integration of Knowledge and Ideas and Complex Text

Massachusetts Standard 8A Literary Concepts

Massachusetts Standard 8 A